Thought Leadership

IEEE Honors Siemens Employees for Dedication to Standards Development

By Tom Fitzpatrick

Annually, the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) recognizes outstanding participation across a variety of technical areas of standards development, leadership, and distinguished service.  The IEEE SA awards ceremony was held in early December and among the awardees are two from Siemens EDA. You may recognize the names as they are two of our Verification Horizons bloggers as well.

Dave RichThe Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award, given in recognition of outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the DASC. 

Dave Rich Accepting Award – Pictured (left to right): Dennis Brophy, DASC Chair; Ron Waxman, DASC Founder; Dave Rich; Yatin Trivedi, IEEE SA Awards Committee Chair

Dave was recognized for more than three decades of design and verification experience in simulation and synthesis technologies.  Affectionately known as “Mr. SystemVerilog,” he has been actively involved in SystemVerilog standardization for many years, and served as the Technical Chair of the IEEE P1800 Working Group for the soon-to-be-published 1800-2023 Standard. Dave also serves on the Steering Committee for the Design and Verification Conference (DVConUS). 

Dennis Brophy – The IEEE-SA International Award, given in recognition of his global efforts to drive definition, acceptance, and use of electronic design automation standards including IEEE 1076 (VHDL), IEEE 1666 (SystemC), and IEEE 1800 (SystemVerilog).

Dennis Brophy Accepting Award – Pictured: James Mathews, IEEE SA President; Dennis Brophy; Yatin Trivedi, IEEE SA Awards Committee Chair

Dennis was recognized for his contributions to advance the international goals of the IEEE SA from his early work in VHDL to fostering a global market in the adoption of SystemVerilog.  His work has aligned IEEE and IEC standardization for electronic design automation.  He has further worked to bring the interests of industry globally into the standardization process to deliver market relevant standards. 

The IEEE honored two others in electronic design automation.  The Ron Waxman DASC Meritorious Service award was presented to an entity, JEITA SSS-TC (Japan Electronics and Information Technology Industries Association, Semiconductor System Solution Technical Committee) for development of IEEE Std. 2401 and the group’s longstanding support of the development and adoption of EDA-related language-based standards.  The award was accepted by Geni’chi Tanaka.  The IEEE SA Standards Medallion was awarded to Jyotika Athavale for leadership, technical expertise, and guidance in the development of IEEE Std. 2851 in functional safety. 

Standards make all our lives simpler, promote interoperability and fuel product compatibility. I’m pleased to see two of my Siemens colleagues being recognized this year as standards provide a stable but continually evolving foundation that enables entire industries to develop and thrive.

Leave a Reply

This article first appeared on the Siemens Digital Industries Software blog at