A Reddit AMA – come along and ask me anything about embedded software or whatever …

In the UK, it is well known that an early sign of being old is making the observation “don’t the policemen look young”. As I am an advocate of the “60 is the new 40” concept [even though I have a couple of years to go], I like to think of myself as being up to date on most things. However, there are some areas of life that challenge me. Clothes fashion is one [that has always been the case – nothing to do with age!]; social networking is another …

It is not that I dislike social networking – quite the reverse. I enjoy being in touch with people and making new connections. My issue is that the “flavor of the month” seems to change an amazing rate [just like clothes fashions] and often for no obvious reason [ditto]. Anyone remember MySpace and Yahoo IM? I am a keen user of Facebook and LinkedIn and tweeting has been known to occur. And I still feel that, properly used, email is an excellent written communications channel. But no, I believe that I am supposed to use Instagram and WhatsApp nowadays, even though they have less functionality than their predecessors.

320px-Reddit_logo.svg

A social networking platform that has become more significant lately is Reddit. Broadly speaking, Reddit is a place to share stuff and then chat about and comment on it in a context of “communities”. It also offers the opportunity for broader discussion via AMA [“Ask Me Anything”] sessions. I thought that it might be interesting to host one of those …

So, you have an opportunity to literally ask me anything. I anticipate that it will be about embedded software, but please do not feel constrained to purely that topic. I am happy to chat about anything [well, almost anything!]. The session will take place live on Thursday 19 February at 09:00 PST [which is 12:00 EST, 17:00 GMT and 18:00 CET]. I anticipate being online for about an hour, but will check back in the day or so after the session.

You need to set up a Reddit account to participate, but that is free, of course, and only takes moments. To join my AMA session, you will need to follow this link.

Want to stay up to date on news from Siemens Digital Industries Software? Click here to choose content that's right for you

Leave a Reply

This article first appeared on the Siemens Digital Industries Software blog at https://blogs.sw.siemens.com/embedded-software/2015/02/13/a-reddit-ama-come-along-and-ask-me-anything-about-embedded-software-or-whatever-2/